The Durban Coloured Girl Comes To Braam

This is the part everyone has been waiting for since I’ve been here. ‘What’s it like being a Coloured girl from Durban coming to Braam?’ Let me just say, this shit is something else

img_9493

What are you?                          

I think race plays a big part in a move, especially when people constantly ask ‘are you Coloured or Indian?’ But honestly, what does that have to do with anything? Growing up, I’ve always been asked that question and why? Well, I have an Indian surname, so people look at my surname and automatically I become Indian. Then there’s the hair, yes the hair. ‘But you don’t have Coloured hair.’ I honestly didn’t know your hair defines you but surely it does. Well I’m Coloured and that’s it.

Adjusting as a Coloured Girl

No one ever talks about the ‘Coloured or Indian girl’ that has moved to a new city because we always ‘expect’ them to adjust and move on. It doesn’t work like that, we don’t just ‘adjust’ in one month. Maybe some do, but not all and most definitely not me. Finding my way around, making friends, that shit isn’t easy. Then people hear I’m from Durban and it’s like ‘you from Durban?’ I’m not saying for a young Black or White girl it’s any easier, but we always hearing their stories, they always voicing themselves but never the Coloured or Indian girl. The saying ‘its part of growing up’ doesn’t even come close to the adjustment. Yes, we all have to grow up at some point but the race card makes the biggest impact.

Durban vs Braam

Being Coloured in Durban and being Coloured in Braam, well that’s something up for discussion. I’m not one to make friends easily, in Durban it was hard because it was the ‘norm’ not to talk to a person when you in a new space, maybe only after a day or two but in Braam, it’s the complete opposite. The minute you in a new space a conversation sparks. I have made the most amazing friends who have shown me around Braam, made me feel at home and call me ‘banana’ simply because I’m Coloured. Do I take offense to that? Not at all, because that’s what they see when they look at me.

edited-close-up

Braam has definitely made an impact on me, especially being Coloured. I was used to Coloureds and their ‘comfort zones,’ waiting for people to make shit happen for them and having no sense of originality. In Braam it’s the opposite, and I found a sense of individuality because being a ‘Durban Coloured’ makes me different from the rest. It’s been hard, it’s been emotional and it’s been great but if there’s one thing that Braam has taught me, is that being Coloured is my culture.

See related article on Live Mag SA

Leave a Reply

